US Goverment Declares Travel Ban On 20 States In Nigeria

By  | 

US Government Declares Travel Ban on Borno, Rivers, Edo, 17 other states as ‘unsafe’ and ‘no go area’ to its citizens

US Government Declares Travel Ban On 20 States In Nigeria

US Government Declares Travel Ban

The government of United States has placed a danger alert on 20 States in Nigeria over security fears in the affected areas.

Following its apparent notion of lack of confidence in the Nigerian Army – to guarantee the safety of its citizens – the US government issued the travel ban.

The states affected are; Adamawa, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Borno, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara.

The American government also stated that only essential travel will be allowed to these areas.

The travel warning has been given due to the “risk of kidnappings, robberies and other armed attacks.”

The statement said, “Security measures in Nigeria remain heightened due to threats posed by extremist groups, and U.S. citizens may encounter police and military checkpoints, additional security, and possible road blocks throughout the country.

“Hundreds of thousands of Nigerians have been displaced as a result of violence in the north.”

“The Department also warns against travel in the Gulf of Guinea, because of the threat of piracy. Attacks by pirates off the coast of Nigeria in the Gulf of Guinea have increased substantially in recent years. Armed gangs have boarded both commercial and private vessels to rob travellers.

“Based on safety and security risk assessments, the embassy maintains restrictions for travel by US officials to the states listed above. Officials must also apply for advance clearance by the US Mission for any travel to those states.

“Separatist groups have staged demonstrations in Abia, Anambra, Bayelsa, Delta, Enugu, Imo, Lagos, and Rivers states, some of which have turned violent.

“Militant groups have destroyed oil production infrastructure in Bayelsa and Delta states.

“U.S citizens are advised to avoid the areas of these states where these incidents have occurred.”

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...



The chief editor here at Gbasibe, Digital Marketer and goal getter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *