Revealed: How Akeredolu Emerged Ondo APC Governorship Candidate

By  | 
Revealed: How Akeredolu Emerged Ondo APC Governorship Candidate: More details have emerged about the emergence of Rotimi Akeredolu aka Aketi as he flagbearer of the All Progressives Congress in Ondo.

Revealed: How Akeredolu Emerged Ondo APC Governorship Candidate

 Akeredolu Emerged Ondo APC Governorship Candidate
Rotimi Akeredolu
A former president of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Rotimi Akeredolu, has won the governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State at a keenly contested primary election conducted on Saturday, DailyTrust reports.

Akeredolu, who defeated 23 other aspirants, including a female, was the candidate of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), which later coalesced to form the APC, in the 2012 contest in Ondo State.The Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) polled 669 votes to beat the aspirant believed to have been endorsed by the APC national leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chief Olusegun Abraham, who garnered 635 votes.

Chief Olusola Oke, a former Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate in the 2012 election, came third with 576 votes at the primary election conducted by the Jigawa State Governor Badaru Abubakar-led five-man committee.
The incumbent senator, Ajayi Boroffice, representing Ondo North Senatorial District in the National Assembly polled  471 votes to come fourth at the election held in Akure, the Ondo State capital.
The senator representing Ondo Central, Tayo Alasoadura, polled 206 votes, while a serving member of the House of Representatives, Bode Ayorinde, garnered 67 votes.
Jumoke Ajasin Anifowose, the only female aspirant, got a vote.
The results also showed Tunji Ariyomo getting two votes, Tunji Abayomi, five votes; Adefemi Mayowa, 13 votes; Adegbomire Adebiyi, 8 votes; Adekunle Adekunle, 8 votes; Senator Ayo Akinyelure, 3 votes; Jamiu Afolabi, 44 votes; Olabitan Victor, 18 votes and Oyewumi Taiwo 7 votes.
Governor Abubakar, who announced the result, declared Rotimi Akeredolu as winner and the APC candidate, having scored the highest votes. Abubakar, who said one of the 24 aspirants, Paul Akintelure, withdrew before the election, and congratulated other aspirants for accepting defeat.
He implored them to work with Akeredolu to win the November 26 governorship election. A total of 2774 delegates participated in the primary election which recorded seven invalid votes.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...



The chief editor here at Gbasibe, Digital Marketer and goal getter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *