Federal Government Reconstitutes Code Of Conduct: Prof. Yemi Osinbajo

By  | 

Nigeria’s Acting President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, on Monday approved the appointment of the 10 members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB), as required by the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.


This reconstitution of the bureau follows a court order flushing out members of the bureau who had served beyond their term limits and constituted themselves into a corrupt cabal assisting corrupt politicians and public servants to alter their declaration of assets.

The bureau will now be headed by Dr. Muhammad Isah, from Jigawa in the North-West Zone, as Chairman.

In a statement signed by Mohammed T. K. Nakorji, Assistant Director (Press), of the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, named the other members as follows:

  • Murtala Kankia  – Katsina (North-West Zone)

  • Emmanuel E. Attah – Rivers (South-South Zone)

  • Danjuma Sado – Edo (South-South Zone)

  • Ubolo I. Okpanachi – Kogi (North-Central Zone)

  • Ken Madaki Alkali – Nasarawa (North-Central Zone)

  • Prof. S. F. Ogundare  – Oyo (South-West Zone)

  • Hon. Ganiyu Hamzat  – Ogun (South-West Zone)

  • Sa’ad A. Abubakar – Gombe (North-East Zone) and

  • Dr. Vincent Nwanli – Ebonyi (South-East Zone)

Under the constitution, the CCB is charged with receiving declarations as made by public officers under the Fifth Schedule, the same law under which Senate President Bukola Saraki is currently being tried for false declarations when he was Governor of Kwara State.

His Upper house has responsibility for the confirmation of the nominees.  Under the constitution, a nominated member can be no younger than 50 years, and must vacate his office on attaining 75.  A confirmed member will serve for five years in the first instance.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *